Researcher Hélène Payette Recipient of Betty Havens Award in Longitudinal Research

Dr. Hélène Payette, a professor and a researcher at the CSSS-IUGS Research Centre on Aging, is the 2013 recipient of the Betty Havens Award in Longitudinal Research. The award was given to her in Halifax during the annual conference of the Canadian Association on Gerontology in her capacity of lead investigator of the Quebec longitudinal study on nutrition as a determinant of successful aging (NuAge). She accepted the award on behalf of her team and fellow lead investigators: Ms. Pierrette Gaudreau, Université de Montréal; Ms. Katherine Gray-Donald, McGill University; Ms. José A. Morais, McGill University; Ms. Bryna Shatenstein, Université de Montréal.

From 2003 to 2008, the NuAge study was funded by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (2003-2008). Some 1,800 people participated in the research initiative whose goal was to cross-examine nutrition and temporal modifications to it with observed changes in physical and mental health, functional independence, and social functioning. The NuAge databank continues to be an important source of information for research.

The Betty Havens Award in Longitudinal Research is awarded to a scientist or a student for excellence in longitudinal research on aging.

An expert in epidemiology and nutrition, Professor Payette twice served as Director of the Research Centre on Aging (2001-2011). She is also a full professor with the faculty of medicine and health sciences at the Université de Sherbrooke. She is currently co-investigator of the lifestyles component of the Canadian Longitudinal Study on Aging (CLSA), a vastpan-Canadian study involving more than 50,000 participants over a period of 20 years. The CLSA has 11 data collection sites, including one in Sherbrooke.

More news